## 20.—Legislatures and Premiers of Manitoba 1932-58 and Ministry as at Sept. 1, 1958

## Legislatures 1932-581

Date of Election	Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution	
June 16, 1932	19th	4	Feb. 14, 1933	June 12, 1936	
July 27, 1936	20th	5	Feb. 18, 1937	Mar. 13, 1941	
Apr. 22, 1941	21st	5	Dec. 9, 1941	Sept. 8, 1945	
Oct. 15, 1945	22nd	4	Feb. 19, 1946	Sept. 29, 1949	
Nov. 10, 1949	23rd	7	Feb. 14, 1950	Apr. 23, 1953	
June 8, 1953	24th	5	Feb. 2, 1954	Apr. 30, 1958	
June 16, 1958	25th	2	2	2	

<sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1932-58 were: 12th Ministry sworn in Aug. 8, 1922, under the leadership of Hon. J. Bracken; 13th Ministry sworn in Jan. 14, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Stuart S. Garson; 14th Ministry sworn in Nov. 13, 1948, under the leadership of Hon. D. L. Campbell: 15th Ministry sworn in June 30, 1958, under the leadership of Hon. Dufferin Roblin. <sup>2</sup> Legislature not yet in session at Sept. 1, 1958.

## **Fifteenth Ministry**

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 16, 1958: 26 Progressive Conservatives, 19 Liberal Progressives, 11 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Independent.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment		Date of Present Appointment		
Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations and Acting Provincial Treasurer	Hon. DUFFERIN ROBLIN Hon. ERRICK F. WILLIS Hon. E. GURNEY EVANS Hon. STEWART E. MCLEAN Hon. STERLING R. LYON Hon. GEORGE JOHNSON	Nov. 2, June 30, June 30, June 30, June 30, June 30, June 30,	1940 <sup>1</sup> 1958 1958 1958 1958 1958 1958 1958	June June	30, 30, 30, 30, 30, 30, 30,	1958 1958 1958 1958 1958 1958 1958

<sup>1</sup> Coalition appointment.

## Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of the Province of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable F. L. Bastedo, Lieutenant-Governor at Sept. 1, 1958, was commissioned to office Jan. 27, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 95, and in the 1957-58 Year Book, p. 68.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 53, elected for a maximum term of five years.

As of Apr. 1, 1958, the Premier receives \$9,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$8,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$5,000, the Speaker \$2,500 and the Deputy Speaker \$1,500. The sessional indemnity of a Member of the Legislature is \$3,200 together with an expense allowance of \$1,600. Members for the three northernmost constituencies of Cumberland, Athabasca and Meadow Lake each receive a \$3,500 sessional indemnity and a \$1,750 expense allowance.